Mail Ballot Precincts

All townships, and cities having fewer than 400 registered voters on June 1 of an election year, may apply to the county auditor for permission to conduct balloting by mail. Mail balloting is authorized by resolution of the governing body and remains in effect for subsequent state and county elections until it is revoked.

Ballots will be sent to all registered voters in mail ballot precincts no more than 46 days and no later than 14 days before a regularly scheduled election for federal, state, and county elections. A postage-paid return mailing envelope, a ballot secrecy envelope and instructions for marking and returning ballots will be included with each ballot.

Check to see if you are registered to vote by visiting the Secretary of State website.

Mail Ballot Precincts


  • Barnum City
  • Cromwell
  • Kettle River
  • Wrenshall City 
  • Wright 


  • Beseman 
  • Clear Creek
  • Corona
  • Holyoke
  • Kalevala
  • Progress
  • Red Clover
  • Sawyer
  • Split Rock
  • Wrenshall

Election Day Polling Place Location

In the event you did not receive your mail ballot or you moved into a mail ballot precinct after the voter registration cut-off, you can still vote on election day at the Carlton County Auditor's Office.

Carlton County Courthouse
Auditor's Office 2nd Floor
301 Walnut Ave
Carlton, MN 55718